

CITY OF CHICAGO

COUNCIL CHAMBER CITY HALL ROOM 200 121 NORTH LASALLE STREET CHICAGO, ILLINOIS 60602

June 30, 2021

Honorable Anna Valencia City Clerk City Hall, Room 107 121 North LaSalle Street Chicago, Illinois 60602 Chicago City Clerk-Council Div. 2021 JUN 30 AM10:52

Clerk Valencia:

We, the undersigned Members of the City Council of the City of Chicago, do hereby call a special meeting of the City Council of the City of Chicago, to be convened on Friday, July 2, 2021 at 11:00am. Because an in-person meeting is not practical or prudent due to COVID-19 restrictions, the meeting shall take place by videoconference. It shall provide for remote participation and remote viewing by members of the public.

The special meeting is for the following purposes and no other purpose whatsoever:

- To receive, as the Committee of the Whole, reports from David Brown, Chicago Police Department Superintendent, regarding the Chicago Police Department's policies and efforts designed at increasing the safety of all Chicagoans this summer; and,
- For the immediate consideration and subsequent vote on a Resolution of No Confidence (R2021-218) of Chicago Police Superintendent David Brown should he fail to appear and present before the body.

We must inform the residents of Chicago that its leaders are doing everything possible to create safe neighborhoods. We feel this open & public forum, in the absence of customary committee hearings, is the best avenue to accomplish that goal.

Respectfully electronically signed,

Ald. Brian Hopkins (2<sup>nd</sup>) Ald. Roderick Sawyer (6<sup>th</sup>) Ald. Anthony Beale (9<sup>th</sup>) Ald. Susan Sadlowski-Garza (10<sup>th</sup>) Ald. Marty Quinn (13<sup>th</sup>) Ald. Edward Burke (14<sup>th</sup>) Ald. Raymond Lopez (15<sup>th</sup>) Ald. David Moore (17<sup>th</sup>) Ald. Matt O'Shea (19<sup>th</sup>) Ald. Jeanette Taylor (20<sup>th</sup>) Ald. Silvana Tabares (23<sup>rd</sup>) Ald. Michael Scott (24<sup>th</sup>) Ald. Byron Sigcho-Lopez (25<sup>th</sup>) Ald. Felix Cardona (31<sup>st</sup>) Ald. Gilbert Villegas (36<sup>th</sup>) Ald. Samantha Nugent (39<sup>th</sup>) Ald. Andre Vasquez (40<sup>th</sup>) Ald. Anthony Napolitano (41<sup>st</sup>) Ald. Brendan Reilly (42<sup>nd</sup>)